“Captivating” Unveiling a Woman’s Soul

Captivating

Captivating

I just finished reading this for the 2nd time.   “Captivating” is written by John & Stasi Eldredge (John wrote Wild at Heart).

We as woman are created to be SO totally relational, and it comes through in everything we feel, do & say.  All these emotions we experience that we cant quite pinpoint, the longings & that deep ache are all based on how God created us to be as women.  We were His final creation…His crowning glory!!

In reading this book, it helped me realize WHY I feel like I do, and that no, I’m not crazy, that these desires are God created!  In his perfect plan part of these desires can only be met with a relationship with Him.  Part are meant to be filled by our husbands…which they can ONLY do by having a relationship with the Father also.  It all is meant to intertwine together.

But we live in a fallen world.  We are sinners, who marry sinners, and have little sinnerlings!   Things don’t work out they way its supposed to.   But how we are created to feel still exists.  Deep inside we are still the little girl who longs wto be swept away by romance, rescued and protected by the knight, and chosen over all others to be the princess of his dreams.    We want to know we are beautiful, that they need us to complete & fill their hearts, that we are worth fighting for!!

But how many of us feel like that?  I dont.  At least not by any male on this earth!  God does though.  In spite of all my flaws, he has chosen me. He longs for my company & to be in an intimate relationship with me…that I am worth everything to him and worth fighting, even dying for.

It is a difficult concept for me to get my heart & head around, but I’m working on it.

I feel this is a book that every woman should read…more than once!  I felt it was written as though they were writing about me!!   Highly HIGHLY recommended reading!!

www.TheIntentionalMom.com

Published in: on February 17, 2009 at 1:11 am  Leave a Comment  

Leave a comment